Young Investigator Travel Awards

Since 2003, the Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation has offered Young Investigator Travel Awards to new physicians and scientists in the field of cutaneous lymphoma research to attend annual medical meetings. Eligibility for an award includes having submitted an abstract and presenting research related to cutaneous lymphoma at the meeting.

The award was first given to support travel to the Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) Annual Meeting and participation in the concurrent CTCL Symposium. Due to the positive response of the initial award in 2011, a second award was offered to an investigator presenting at the American Society of Hematology (ASH) Annual Meeting. In 2019 additional travel awards were offered to the European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) and World Congress of Cutaneous Lymphomas (WCCL) meetings.

Recent Recipients

2022 Society of Investigative Dermatology (SID) 

  • Xu Hannah Zhang, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center, "Role of p38β in cutaneous T cell lymphoma"

2020 World Congress of Cutaneous Lymphomas (WCCL) 

  • Emine Gulsen Gunes, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center, "Proinflammatory and immunosuppressive cytokines polarize the microenvironment in cutaneous T cell lymphoma and regulate PD-L1 expression"

2019 American Society of Hematology (ASH) 

  • Pia Rude Nielsen, MD, PhD student, Zealand University Hospital, Institute for Clinical Medicine, Copenhagen University,  "Diagnostic 2-Gene Classifier in Early-Stage Mycosis Fungoides: A Retrospective Multicenter Study"

2019 European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) 

  • Saritha Kartan, MD, PhD, FAAD, Thomas Jefferson University, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center, "Response to topical corticosteroid monotherapy in mycosis fungoides"

2019 Society of Investigative Dermatology (SID) 

  • Amrita Goyal, MD, University of Minnesota, "Epidemiology of primary cutaneous gamma/delta T-cell lymphoma and subcutaneous panniculitis-like T-cell lymphoma in the United States from 2006-2015: A Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results-18 analysis"
  • Shamir Geller, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and the Tel Aviv Medical Center, "CCR4 expression in CD8+ cutaneous T-cell lymphomas and lymphoproliferative disorders and its implications for diagnosis and treatment"

American Society of Hematology

Pamela B. Allen, MD, MS, Emory University School of Medicine

María Florencia Cayrol, PhD, University of Buenos Aires, Argentine

Salvia Jain, MD, New York University

Rebecca Kohnken, DVM, Ohio State University 

Anjali Mishra, PhD, Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center 

Bethany Mundy-Bosse, PhD, Ohio State University

Pia Rude Nielsen, MD, PhD (student), Zealand University Hospital, Institute for Clinical Medicine, Copenhagen University

Giorgia Saporiti, MD, University of Milan, Italy 

Tianjiao Wang, PhD, University of Michigan

European Organisation of Research and Treatment of Cancer - Cutaneous Lymphoma Taskforce

Saritha Kartan, MD, PhD, FAAD, Thomas Jefferson University

Stefan M. Schieke, MD, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Society of Investigative Dermatology

Oleg E. Akilov, MD, PhD, University of Pittsburgh 

Narin Apisanthanarax, MD, Case Western

Rachael Clark, MD, PhD, Harvard

Adèle de Masson, MD, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Carina A. Dehner, MD, Yale School of Medicine

Shamir Geller, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Tel Aviv Medical Center

Larisa Geskin, MD, University of Pittsburgh

Amrita Goyal, MD, University of Minnesota

Filiberto Cendeno Laurent, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania

Karen McGinnus, MD, University of Pennsylvania

Tomomitsu Miyagaki, MD, PhD, The University of Tokyo Graduate School of Medicine, Japan 

Xiao Ni, MD, PhD, MD Anderson

John T. O'Malley, MD, PhD, Harvard Medical School 

Christiane Querfeld, MD, Northwestern University

Sima Rozati, MD, University Hospital Zurich - (IID YIA Recipient)

Makato Sugaya, MD, University of Tokyo, Japan

Rei Watanabe, MD, PhD, Harvard Skin Disease and Research Center, Department of Dermatology, Brigham and Women's Hospital

Chunlei Zhang, MD, PhD, MD Anderson 

Xu Hannah Zhang, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center

World Congress of Cutaneous Lymphomas

Emine Gulsen Gunes, PhD, City of Hope National Medical Center

Designed and built by Giant Rabbit.