American Society of Hematology Announces 2020 Scholar Award Recipients

December 2019 – The American Society of Hematology (ASH) today announced the 39 recipients of its 2020 Scholar Awards. One of ASH’s most prestigious research award programs, the ASH Scholar Awards financially support fellows to junior faculty dedicated to careers in hematology research as they transition from training programs to careers as independent investigators. 

Each Scholar Award provides $100,000 for the Fellow level, $125,000 for the new Fellow to Faculty Scholars level, or $150,000 for the Junior Faculty level over a two- to three-year period. The program funds hematologists in the United States and Canada who conduct basic, translational, and clinical research that furthers the understanding and treatment of blood disorders.

A recipient of a Junior Faculty level award of $150,000, is cutaneous lymphoma researcher Anjali Mishra, PhD, from the Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Mishra is member of the Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation's Research Advisory Council and a past recipient of our Young Investigator Travel Awards.

ASH Scholar Awards are made possible through support from the ASH Foundation as well as from the corporate community, individual donors, and funds committed by the Society. ASH gratefully acknowledges this year’s corporate supporters, AstraZeneca, Pharmacyclics LLC, and Daiichi Sankyo, Inc.

“For many scientists, attaining early funding for their research is a turning point, not only providing financial support but also showing that ASH believes in their potential to make impactful discoveries,” said 2020 ASH President Stephanie Lee, MD, MPH of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. “For more than 30 years now, ASH has been supporting fellows and early career faculty with Scholar Awards. Recipients of these prestigious awards have gone on to distinguished careers, receiving more than $1 billion from various funding institutions and becoming leaders in our field. Congratulations to all the Awardees.”