Online Learning Center

What is lymphoma and cutaneous lymphoma?


What is lymphoma?

Lymphoma is the most common blood cancer. The two main forms of lymphoma are Hodgkin lymphoma (HL) and non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL).

Lymphoma occurs when lymphocytes, a type of white blood cell, grow abnormally. The body has two main types of lymphocytes: B-lymphocytes (B-cells) and T-lymphocytes (T-cells). Cancerous lymphocytes can travel to many parts of the body, including the lymph nodes, spleen, bone marrow, blood or other organs, and can accumulate to form tumors.

T-cell lymphomas, which occur when T-lymphocyte cells become cancerous, account for 10-15 percent of all NHL cases in the United States. There are many different forms of T-cell lymphoma, some of which are extremely rare. Most T-cell lymphomas can be classified into two broad categories: aggressive (fast-growing) and indolent (slow-growing).

What is cutaneous lymphoma?

One of the most common forms of T-cell lymphoma is cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL), a general term for T-cell lymphomas that involve the skin including mycosis fungoides and Sezary syndrome, the two most common types of CTCL.

Other types of cutaneous lymphoma include lymphomatoid papulosis, peripheral T-cell lymphoma, cutaneous anaplastic large cell lymphoma, adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma, lymphomatoid granulomatosis, granulomatous slack skin disease, and pagetoid reticulosis to name a few.

In addition to involving the skin, CTCL can also involve the lymph nodes, blood and other internal organs.

For more information, click here for “Fast Facts on Cutaneous T-Cell Lymphoma".

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

This is an automatic translation service and therefore the
Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation is not responsible
for any potential translation inaccuracies.