About Cutaneous Lymphoma

2012 American Academy of Dermatology Meeting Highlights

The 70th Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) was held March 16-20, 2012 in San Diego, CA. Through many activities at the meeting, the Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation capitalized on opportunities to build awareness, enhance collaborations and strengthen relationships with key partners in its mission.

Several Foundation representatives attended the meeting including Stuart R. Lessin, MD, Foundation President; Pierluigi Porcu, MD, Foundation board member and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology, Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center; Michael W. Young, Foundation board member; and Susan Thornton, cutaneous lymphoma patient and the Foundation’s Management Consultant for Programs and Services.

Prior to this meeting, the United States Cutaneous Lymphoma Consortium (USCLC) held its annual workshop, which featured topics including: Controversies in the classification and histological diagnosis of CD30+ lymphoproliferative disorders; New perspectives on cytokines in the prognosis and pathogenesis of CD30+ lymphoproliferative disorders; Transformed mycosis fungoides (MF); and Consensus response criteria and endpoints for clinical trials in non-MF/non-Sezary syndrome cutaneous lymphomas.  We’ll be sharing more about outcomes from this meeting in future Foundation communications.

The AAD’s meeting program featured a plethora of educational sessions including many on cutaneous lymphoma. Two sessions specifically about cutaneous T-cell lymphoma (CTCL) were conducted and well-attended.  Gary S. Wood, MD, Chair, Department of Dermatology, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, focused on the three main types of CTCL: mycosis fungoides, Sezary syndrome and anaplastic large cell lymphoma as well as the management of patients with CTCL. Ellen Kim, MD, Assistant Professor, University of Pennsylvania, moderated a panel discussion that reviewed the advances in pathophysiology, diagnostic dermatopathology tools, staging recommendations and treatment options. Cutaneous lymphoma specialist panel members included Madeline Duvic, MD of the MD Anderson Cancer Center; Joan Guitart, MD of the Northwestern University; Youn Kim, MD of Stanford University; Alain Rook, MD of the University of Pennsylvania; and Gary S. Wood, MD of the University of Wisconsin.

Additional sessions specifically about phototherapy, photopheresis, and the practical approach to diagnosing and treating cutaneous lymphoma were held.

In addition to attending educational sessions, the Foundation held the annual meeting of its Medical Advisory Board during which robust discussions took place on key topics including the Foundation’s new Research Awards Program and advocacy priorities around medical reimbursement and increased federal funding of research.

As a member of the Coalition of Skin Diseases (CSD), the Foundation participated in the organization’s annual meeting, which included an important discussion on the CSD’s collaborative itch research project.  This project is focused on pooling resources among member organizations to have a greater impact on research dedicated to exploring the causes of and treatments for itch, one of the most debilitating symptoms endured by cutaneous lymphoma patients.

The Foundation also connected with many current corporate partners as well as new corporate and organizational partners.  These connections enable the Foundation to build and strengthen relationships that support the mission and, ultimately, cutaneous lymphoma patients.

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

This is an automatic translation service and therefore the
Cutaneous Lymphoma Foundation is not responsible
for any potential translation inaccuracies.